add_filter( 'acf/the_field/allow_unsafe_html', function( $allowed, $selector ) { return true; }, 10, 2); add_filter( 'acf/the_field/allow_unsafe_html', function( $allowed, $selector ) { return true; }, 10, 2); The Basics of the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification - UDI

Regulatory compliance is a set of rules that many organizations must follow to protect sensitive data. If you are working with digital assets, healthcare regulations, consumer data and even federal contracting, you can bet your organization will need to follow regulatory compliance. Dealing with compliance standards can be a headache, but on a positive note, it can help businesses define the data that could be subject to hackers.

In this blog, we are going to delve deeper into the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) and see why it can matter for your business when dealing with federal contracts.

What is the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC)?

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) program that applies to Defense Industrial Base (DIB) contractors. It is put in place to ensure that defense contractors are properly protecting sensitive information when working with federal agencies. CMMC is required for all government contractors and was essentially developed to further strengthen security compliance requirements. In a nutshell, it’s an effort to secure the DoD’s supply chain security and protect DIB contractors from cyberattacks.

What Makes CMMC Different?

There are plenty of compliance regulation standards on the market, so what makes CMMC different from the rest? An interesting fact, when it comes to CMMC, is that it represents multitudes of frameworks and standards combined. From the NIST Cybersecurity Framework to ISO 27001, CMMC takes the best cybersecurity processes from each and combines them into a set of compliance standards that are followed by federal contracting agencies.

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is comprised of three levels that are aligned with cybersecurity practices and sensitivity of information that are subjected to different types of consequences and potential threats. Any organization that is within a defense contract supply chain must comply with and adhere to these CMMC requirements.

These types of requirements for each level can include, but are not limited to:

  • Limiting access to information to authorized users only.
  • Sanitizing or destroying devices that contain sensitive information before discarding.
  • Ensuring that actions of individual users can be traced.
  • Creating and logging system records.

CMMC introduces new sets of standards and requirements for certification that must be met. Contractors must receive this certification if they are interested in winning government contracts.

With this information in mind, do any of these requirements fall in line with the clients you are working with? Are you looking to prepare for CMMC compliance? Universal Data has your back.

Why Does CMMC Matter to My Business?

If you are planning to work with government contracts, then you might need to adhere to CMMC. You might think your business doesn’t need to worry about this because you don’t work on any federal contracts—but you might work with a contractor who does a mixture of commercial and federal projects. Wouldn’t you rather broaden your horizon and close more contracts? These contractors might require you to be CMMC compliant.

By partnering with Universal Data, we can help you by offering a CMMC compliance audit to see where you stand. We understand compliance regulations can be hard to navigate, but we have you covered. Contact us today to learn more about how you can become CMMC compliant.